Professor Hrvoje Petek

Research:  Condensed Matter Physics

Education:    Ph.D. University of California Berkeley, 1985 - Chemistry

                         B.S. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1980 - Chemistry


                        412-624-3599 (office)

                        412-624-9163 (fax)

Biographical sketch - CV

Google Scholar Citations

List of Publications

Postdoctoral Fellow, Advisor: Prof. Keitaro Yoshihara

Research Associate, Institute for Molecular Science

Senior Research Scientist and Group Leader, Hitachi Advanced Research Laboratory

Professor of Physics, University of Pittsburgh

Professor of Chemistry, University of Pittsburgh

Richard King Mellon Chair of Physics and Astronomy

Co-Director, Petersen Institute for NanoScience and Engineering

Editor-in-Chief, Progress in Surface Science

Member, National Research and Development Agency Advisory Committee for NIMS, Japan

Senior Scientific Advisor to the Director General of the Institute for Molecular Science, Japan

Steering Committee Chair, IQ Initiative

Advisory Committee member of the Advanced Science Research Center of the Japan

Atomic Energy Agency








Leadership Roles:







Awards and Honors:

     National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellow, 1980-1984

     National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow, 1985-1987

     Yamada Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow, 1985

     NEDO Joint International Research Grant Awardee, 1996-1999, 2003-2006

     Alexander von Humboldt Research Award, 2000

     Fellow, American Physical Society, 2003

     Chancellor's Distinguished Research Award, University of Pittsburgh, 2005

     Morino Award, Kyoto University, Japan, 2014

     AAAS Fellow, 2016

     Ahmed Zewail Award in Ultrafast Science and Technology, 2019

     Distinguished Scientist of the Chinese Academy of Science, President's International Fellowship Initiative, 2022-2023

Progress in Surface Science:

     Progress in Surface Science is a review journal on current research in surface science broadly defined.  We welcome nominations and proposals for future review articles.  All inquiries should be sent to the Editor-in-Chief, Hrvoje Petek at